Martin Thörnblom (AT)


Martin Thörnblom originally from Stockholm is Interior Architect, founder and owner of studio thörnblom – büro für innenarchitektur in Vienna.

He has been Vice President of the Bund Östereichischer Innenarchitektur BÖIA and since 2010 he is also leading workshops at the New Design University NDU in St. Pölten, Austria.

President of ECIA since September 2019

Loes Bliek (NL)

Secretary General

Loes has a long career as allround executive and deputy director of Bureau Architectenregister (BA), the architects registration board of the Netherlands. She is specialized in the recognition of EU and foreign qualifications and European cooperation, was seconded to the European Commission for five months (DG Markt, current DG Grow, Professional Qualifications Directive) and was representing BA in several European organisations and networks.

Secretary General since September 2018

Dominic Haag-Walthert (CH)


Prof. Dominic Haag-Walthert studied Design, Interior Architecture and Architecture in Zurich. In 2000 he established his own office HAAGWAGNER together with Heiner Wagner. From 2001-2007 he was regional president and from 2007- 2012 board member of VSI.ASAI.

From 2008-09 he teaches as visiting lecturer at HEAD Genève and at Ecole d‘architecture Athénaeum in Lausanne. In 2008 he is involved in the formation of the Bachelor Progam in Interior Architecture at Lucerne University of Applied Science and Art HSLU, where he researches and teaches since then. From 2016 on he is the head of the Institute of Interior Architecture at HSLU. He is also author and publisher of divers publications on topics of Architecture and Interior.

Board member since 2019

Sophie Green (DE)

Board member

Sophie is an experienced, creative, tech-savvy and analytical conceptual thinking interior architect with own interior design practice, a first experience in teaching and a strong interest in professional and political developments. With her interior design practice, she handles both private and public contracts in the field of interior design with a high sustainability standard. Since May 2016 she has been "Appointed External Expert to the European Parliament" in the field of interior design.

Board member since 2019

Jeremy Williams (NO)

Board member

Jeremy Williams is originally from Bristol in England but have lived and worked in Norway for the last 24 years. He studied Interior Architecture in Oslo and worked in the interior department of a number of large architect companies. He is now employed as principal lecturer at Kristiania University College.

Board member since 2018

Davina Preca (MT)

Board member

Having completed the International Baccalaureate in Oxford, UK, Davina graduated with a BA (Hons) in Interior Architecture & Design from Nottingham Trent University, UK, in 2001. She founded her own interior design studio in Malta, in 2003. Over time her portfolio ranges from commercial, residential, hospitality, retail and leisure projects. A deeply rooted family business in the hotel and restaurant industry led an evolution towards specializing in hospitality and restaurant design. As a founding member and president of MIDA, the Malta Interior Design Association, she is a firm believer in continued learning and the importance of interior design as a reputed profession.

Board member since 2023

Thomas Seifert (BE)

board member

Thomas holds a Master in Interior Architecture (University of Antwerp 2011) and also studied Business Economics (Antwerp Management School, 2013). After some years practice as interior architect (private houses and horeca), he gained a lot of experience with BIM and project management. Currently he is working at SECO BELGIUM at Brussels Airport Company as Project engineer Fire Safety, BIM manager and (since 2019) Operational and Commercial Manager.

board member since 2023

Former presidents

Anja Dirks (NL) President of ECIA 2015-2019
Architect / interior architect and owner of Studio id+. Former board member of Dutch Federation of Interior Architects. (BNI); currently commission member at Dutch Architects Registration Bureau.

Per Reinholtz (SE) President of ECIA 2014-2015
Director of Reinholtz & Ronnemark architects. Former ECIA boardmember and past president of the Swedish organization.

Joke Van Hengstum (NL) President of ECIA 2008-2014
Director of Van Hengstum Interieurarchitekten. Several years she was secretary and president of BNI. She was president of ECIA from 2008-2014.

Kees Spanjers (NL) President of ECIA 2004 - 2008
Director of BV Zaanen Spanjers Architects in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. He is the past president of BNI, and a past board member in IFI, the International Federation of Interior Architects/Designers. He served as ECIA president from 2004-2008.

Christine Borella (F) President of ECIA 1999 - 2004.
Director of Borella Art and Design, based in Paris, France, together with her husband Nicola Borella Interior Architect. She has been involved in ECIA since 1995. She was a member of the board of IFI, the International Federation of Interior Architects/Designers 2001-2003.

Roeland van der Hidde (NL) President of ECIA 1992 - 1999.
Director of Hidde Consultants in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. He was ECIA's first president, and is also a past president and now a honourable member of BNI, the Netherlands.